overwhelmed.

Today feels like Christmas. Everyone I know and love has been calling me- to talk about how happy they are, how wonderful this occasion is. To share and be part of something. It is an incredible day and I am very, very proud.

But honestly, I am still processing. I dont think it’s sunk in yet. I welled up with tears the second I saw Jesse Jackson overcome with emotion. My heart swelled with Obama’s speech. And even McCain’s concession was powerful. But I know that due to wine and friends I havent visited the heart of it yet… and when I do, I’ll have much more to say.

Until then, here is the message I sent to many of my loved ones this morning. Somehow at 5 am even with the unknown I was as overwhelmed as I’m managing to be now.

_____

I’m sorry, I need a soapbox moment.

Today is truly a historic and momentous day… I am filled with every emotion ranging from excitement to the occasional wave of panic. It is possible that by the time we go to bed this evening we will have elected the next president of our truly wonderful country. I’ll have my fingers crossed all day.

Barack Obama is an amazing man. And while I personally think he is the candidate this country needs, the only one who seems to be able to unite and inspire, I think it is important to note that our president needs to be not only qualified, but worthy. We do not serve the president, the president serves us. We have to remember how lucky we are to live where we do, to be who we are. I think sometimes we get caught up in the hardships or the irritations and take for granted how awe inspiring this nation truly is. So value the beauty of this country, the diversity and power of it’s people. Those are the things that are deserving of something great. We are entrusting the most valuable things in our lives- our families- to the person we elect. When I stop to think about that, I get inspired all over again and I know I voted the right way.

Obama has the power to be a magnificent leader. But I think most importantly, he makes us see something in ourselves. He has made us realize our worth. He has opened our eyes to the good around us. He has introduced us to our neighbors and our communities. Something in the United States has been warmer and more hopeful since he came along.

I know you’ve all seen this before, but just in case you want to fall in love all over again, I thought I’d send it out. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=jjXyqcx-mYY

Happy election day!

Jess

Leave a Reply

