the insomniac

30 weeks today! Does that sound insane to anyone else? Griffin is getting HUGE! He definitely hit a growth spurt recently. Every inch of my skin feels tight. And while I’ve avoided swelling for most of my pregnancy, all of a sudden my feel & ankles are a bit achy and puffy. Good thing I haven’t asked too much of Drew up to this point because he may be giving me LOTS of massages in the coming weeks.

I’ve also avoided stretch marks for the most part, but I feel like they could be around the corner. My sister-in-law had made a few home made bath items (i.e. deodorant, shampoos) and I got to thinking- why couldn’t I make my own body butter? I MUCH prefer it to lotion because of the thickness and how long it lasts on the skin- so I thought it would be great to make something with organic ingredients, made specifically for a pregnant me. Among other things, I started with cocoa butter. It has been used by pregnant women for centuries to prevent stretch marks since it melts on the skin immediately and is able to deeply moisturize. It also has antioxidants in it that help to erase existing stretch marks. I also used shea butter which promotes elasticity and, apparently, helps to soothe muscle aches and beeswax which is known for its healing and antibacterial properties. Then to add a personal touch, I used grapefruit and geranium essential oils. Both are safe for pregnant women and both are supposed to improve skin, lighten mood, and balance hormones! I’m not going to lie- its not perfect. The cocoa butter is REALLY hard when its not on the skin so sometimes the body butter is annoying to scoop out. And, apparently, I’m not so much a fan of the cocoa butter/ geranium smell combo. BUT when its on the skin, its incredible- my skin is softer than it has ever been. And I really do think its working on those impending stretch marks already!

The worst of my “pregnancy related ailments” lately though is the insomnia. I’ve always been a light sleeper, and once I’m up, I’m up… but its been even worse lately. I think its a combination of a racing mind and back pain from having my weight shifted. The night before last I don’t think I slept for more than an hour the entire night. I was a zombie at work the next day. Then last night I was so exhausted that I fell asleep easily, but a windstorm work me up in the middle of the night and I spent the next several hours tossing and turning. I actually overslept this morning for this first time in YEARS. So yeah, I’m tired. But everyone keeps telling me it will prepare me for a demanding baby!

In exciting news, I’m so close to graduation now I can taste it! All that I have left is finishing this last class I’m in and the completion of my capstone. The capstone is basically a thesis (complete with a committee and a defense) with a more “practical” rather than theoretical application. I spent more than 15 hours this weekend finishing the writing and editing of the paper and it is DONE! It is an AMAZING feeling, and while I was initially sad to have “lost” a weekend, nothing could compare to the exhilaration of hitting “send” to ship it to my advisor. The next step is my defense which is November 8th. I have to develop a 15-20 minute presentation for it (and then be prepared to get through an hour of questioning). But then I am DONE! I cant wait to get the degree and have that chapter of my life over with… and just in time to start a COMPLETELY different chapter!

We’re getting so close now that in just a few weeks we’re going to have baby showers! My parents are throwing us our first in mid-November. It is going to be co-ed and “family tree’ themed. I am incredibly excited. I will definitely be sad not to have my extended family there. I miss them all so much. And this coming up makes the emptiness where my Aunt Diane was even more tangible. But my mother-in-law is amazing and is actually flying out for it! And it will be wonderful to be surrounded by my Denver support network- some people I have grown to love like a second family. Shortly after, my work friends are throwing me a “Baby Book Worm” shower were they will each give me a baby book for Griffin to start his first collection. I LOVE the idea, especially knowing how much I adored reading and being read to as a child. It is literally perfect for me, and I am so lucky to work with such incredible, thoughtful women.

So things are moving right along and are as they should be. Our next doctor’s appointment is this Friday where I will meet with another midwife and begin to discuss my birth plan amidst the regular poking and prodding. Exciting!

Leave a Reply

