nine months and counting.


Today we are officially 36 weeks! That’s 9 months, in case you were wondering. We are mere weeks away from meeting our baby! Its a bit overwhelming actually.

Seemingly overnight I entered that “wow, is this uncomfortable” stage that mothers endure in their last stages of pregnancy. I have gotten larger than I ever thought possible, with some of my maternity clothes even feeling a bit snug now. The bi-weekly tank top barely covers all of baby. We might have to think of a different outfit for our 38 week picture so that I can remain fully clothed! I am tired and achy, it is hard for me to get out of some positions, I can no longer tie my own shoes (though Drew lovingly helps me out), and I have to pee every two seconds. I was literally walking out of the restroom this afternoon when I had to pee again. Ugh. BUT- I still wouldn’t trade this experience for anything. Each of my complaints is tempered with “but I am still the luckiest person in the world”. I seriously feel that way.

Drew and I made the decision to put a deposit on the really nice daycare we visited a few weeks ago with the odd hours. We are trusting our gut instinct in the daycare down the street and we are going to have to work together to make this other place work out with me dropping Griffin off in the morning and Drew picking him up in the evening. Hopefully Drew’s schedule doesn’t change and he doesn’t get ordered overtime very often (if ever) because we pay $10 for every 15 minutes we’re late. Yikes.

So my Masters degree was posted today which means I have officially graduated. We went out to dinner at a new place I’ve been wanting to try to celebrate the accomplishment (and the end of classes and homework) as much as our last few weeks of freedom. It was an INCREDIBLE meal- both the food and the conversation. We talked about how lucky we feel because our relationship has actually grown so much stronger through the pregnancy. We fight less, we appreciate each other more, we look at each other and get big grins on our faces… and all in the midst of facing some of the biggest stresses we’ve had in our lives. I think growing from a couple into a family has made us recognize and appreciate all we are- our strengths as well as our weaknesses. I’m excited about sharing this adventure- and even more excited to watch the love of my life develop into an incredible father. We are beyond lucky.

Leave a Reply

