On Owls and Wooden Toys

I bought Griffin’s first Christmas present from us last night! It is a wooden loader truck- super simple and well made. There is something about wooden toys that I adore. Maybe it is how timeless and classic they seem. Maybe it’s because they are so durable. Maybe it’s because they (generally) are not the overly bright, hideous colors that most baby toys are. I believe that this will be the first of many. I hope he likes it!

But the gift I am REALLY excited about is this little owl sweater! It is probably the cutest thing I have ever seen. AND it manages to be made of organic cotton, yet really reasonably priced! And best of all, these sweaters are ethically made by single mothers in Kenya, allowing them to provide for their own families. It is a gift I will absolutely treasure seeing him in AND I can feel good about my money going towards something I believe in. I am beside myself right now!!

We’ll get him a few other small things. And I plan on making him a few toys! But most likely he’ll love ripping the wrapping paper more than anything we could get him.

When I picked Griffin up this evening, he was so excited to see me. A huge smile crossed his face and he flung his little arms up so that I’d grab him. When I lifted him up, he gave me the tightest, sweetest deliberate little hug he’s ever given me. Almost made me weepy. I am a lucky, lucky person.

Leave a Reply

