Perspective

About two months ago, I wrote about a little girl named Becca struggling with cancer. I followed her plight closely over that time, and it was filled with lots of ups and downs. She thrived, she went on adventures, she qualified for a study that they thought was working, and then everything changed. Her tumors grew, she became ill. And then, as her parents said, her spark went out this weekend.

I couldn’t stop thinking about her on Sunday evening once I heard the news. How unfair it was, how broken her family must be. And I thought about our weekend- how much fun we had despite the minor struggles of raising two healthy children.

Drew and I occasionally feel sorry for ourselves. Or allow ourselves to be consumed by frustration. Parenting is, after all, the HARDEST thing I’ve ever done in my life. But in that, I am so unbelievably lucky.

One thought on “Perspective

Leave a Reply

