Wedding Weekend

This weekend I left my babies with Drew and flew to Connecticut for my brother’s wedding. It was a rough trip, but I’m so glad I did it! Most of the day Thursday was spent traveling. We flew into Providence, and then my brother’s house was another hour or so from there. We met up with Brian and Heather for dinner at this ADORABLE little Italian place overlooking the Thames River. Downtown Groton was pure New England charm and I feel totally in love. And the food. Was. Amazing. But even better, I got to know Heather a little more and she really is a sweetheart. My brother is lucky she puts up with him. After dinner they showed us around their mansion house. It is on a gorgeous wooded lot, complete with mossy rock outcroppings. Their house is nice… but GIANT. I have no idea what they’re going to do with all of that space! They literally had multiple rooms that were just bare because they had nothing to fill them with. One empty bedroom my brother refers to as his “dojo”, but Heather was pretty open about the fact that it will be the nursery… so at least there’s a partial answer!

On Friday Brian took us on a tour around the area. We saw Long Island Sound, some of the old lighthouses, old town Mystic, the submarine base and the USS Nautilus, and some gorgeous New England architecture. Since Heather had to pick her friend up at the airport, it was just the four of us for lunch and we went to the Captain Daniel Packer Inne in Mystic. It was packed with history and charm, and the food, again, was incredible. Brian didn’t have a bachelor party, so we made sure to buy him a beer and give him a proper cheers.

danielpacker1 IMG_0380 IMG_0381

After our tour, we went back to Brian’s house to hang out and got to meet Heather’s friend Beth and her PERFECT four month old son. Seriously- this baby was an angel. Later that night, our old family friends, Brian and Gretchen Albrecht got into town. Brian and Heather took all of us out to dinner (for a rehearsal dinner of sorts) at Tissa’s Le Souk du Maroc- an incredible Morroccan restaurant. So, we had really good food up until this point. But this blew everything out of the water. I had a vegetable tangine over couscous, and it was quite possibly the best thing I have ever eaten. In the history of ever. So good. Oh, Tissa’s, why are you so far away? We had so much fun telling old stories and eating and laughing. What a great night.

About-Us~~element45

Tissa’s

IMG_0386

besties

IMG_0394

happy couple

And then Saturday was the wedding! We got up super early to help with anything they needed… and since they did pretty much their entire wedding on their own, they needed quite a bit of help! Unfortunately, Brian and Heather were planning a beach wedding… aaaaaand… it POURED. All. Day. Long. From the time we got up in the morning, until the reception was over it rained and rained and rained. But I tell you what- Brian and Heather were NOT phased. They were happy. All they cared about was getting married- everything else was minor details. And that broke my heart wide open and showed me how right this wedding was. Well, that and their vows:

Yes, of course I cried.

So it was cold and wet. And most of us looked like drowned rats. Thats ok. Everyone was happy. Oh, and the food was good. 🙂

IMG_0397 IMG_0399 IMG_0404 IMG_0405 IMG_0409 IMG_0411 IMG_0415 IMG_0416 IMG_0425 IMG_0442 IMG_0444 IMG_0452 IMG_0454 IMG_0458 IMG_0463

That night after saying goodbye to the newlyweds, we hung out with the Albrechts for a bit before heading back to Providence. We had to get up at 5am (which was really 3 am our time!) ouch. But I was SO glad to get back home. I missed Drew and the kids so so so much! I was so glad I got to be at the wedding, and get to know my new sister in law, and spend time with my brother… but my heart is in Colorado! (even if my hair DOES prefer the east coast)

IMG_0469

Leave a Reply

