NaBloPoMo

I am officially 4 days behind on writing a post every day in November. This is something I’ve done the past few years, and I’d like to continue! So, ok- I’m starting today. This month I’m going to write with a gratitude theme again. Because, honestly, gratitude makes me feel good and it makes other people feel good, and what’s better than that? To catch up on the past few days, I’m going to do a quick recap:

November 1: In their Halloween induced sugar hangover, the kids let us sleep in until EIGHT FIFTEEN. I cant even explain how wonderful and unexpected a gift that was. Griffin is normally up and at ’em by 5:30, so those extra few hours were glorious!

November 2: I got winter coats and snow pants for the kids. Grand total: $12. The snow pants were $1 each!!!! In the brilliant words of the Rolling Stones, “You can’t always get what you want, but if you try sometime you might find you get what you need.” And as it turned out, the kids ADORE their new coats- Evvie had to walk around with hers on inside for a few hours. So sometimes you get what you want AND need.

November 3: Monday was hard. We were only halfway though our advising caseload at that point, we’re doing nothing but seeing students continuously from 8-5, and I was spent. But my day went unbelievably fast! I felt like no sooner had I gotten to work and it was lunch time! Plus, these students are so appreciative and wonderful, it makes the hard work a bit more pleasant.

November 4: although several things didn’t pan out the way I had hoped, Election Day is always so exciting. I am so proud to be able to exercise my rights, and although I may not always agree with the majority, I am happy that in our system, people have the opportunity to be heard. I am also EXTREMELY grateful that we re-elected Hickenlooper (sorry, Drew) and that Personhood failed. The Republican Senate I will just have to get used to…

And that brings me to today. Today I am grateful to have decided to take time for myself, amidst the chaos. I could easily be cleaning something prior to going into work (there is plenty to clean), or going into work early (I have plenty of emails waiting), but instead I made myself an awesome breakfast and a cup of tea and sat down to write. Self preservation is so important and so easy to push aside. And now to plan the rest of my posts!

One thought on “NaBloPoMo

Leave a Reply

