(H)afiz

764e932efe7510a48c6ebecab0bca8dd

I’m sure you’ve seen a quote by Hafiz. They’re everywhere lately, permeating everything from Facebook to Pinterest. I wondered why the sudden popularity, but then again- why not? Hafiz’ poetry is timeless, powerful, and honest. It grabs you by the heart and forces you to look at what matters. He pokes fun at religion and power, stripping everything down to human and soul. Maybe in this time of violence, unrest, illness and financial instability, people take comfort in being confronted with what really matters.

il_570xN.491576693_7zn2

I studied Hafiz in college during one of my poetry classes. I remember being amazed that the words of a 14th century Persian man could feel so magical, yet so necessary. That I could identify with them and be moved by them. There is something otherworldly about his work- it buzzes around in my head and pins itself to my heart

58f087c2d4aa645dc436c01e6101b376

But this is one of my very favorites. I think about it from time to time, when I’m struggling with the words or actions of someone else, or even considering my own thoughts and actions:

Dropping Keys

The small man

Builds cages for everyone

He

Knows.

While the sage,

Who has to duck his head

When the moon is low,

Keeps dropping keys all night long

For the

Beautiful

Rowdy

Prisoners.

All my life, I aim to be the sage.

2 thoughts on “(H)afiz

  1. Stephen Tremp says:

    Cool quote from Hafia. I never tell anyone they owe me anything. That’s love.

    Stephen Tremp
    A to Z Co-host
    Twitter: @StephenTremp

Leave a Reply

