100 Days

100-days-project

I love mass projects. There is something about knowing that I am part of a group working for a common creative goal that really inspires me. It is why I have done things like the A-Z Blog Challenge, the Curvy Girl Write Your Face Off event, NaBloPoMo, and other endeavors. Sometimes I’m successful, sometimes I’m not, but it always gets me inspired and investing in a part of myself that I don’t always invest in.

I first heard about the 100 Day Project a few weeks ago when the ever inspiring Amma Marfo wrote about it on her blog. I remember thinking “oh, that sounds cool. But I wont have the time. I wont finish. It will just be another thing I fail at.” I decided not to bother. But then other people in my circle started talking about it, it kept appearing. And then it was just in my head.

I was still planning on ignoring it until last night- the first night of the project and I had this interaction:IMG_7061

So simple, right? “Not too late.” Somehow those 3 words were so incredibly motivating. And exactly what I needed to hear.

So I thought about it and decided to throw my hat in the ring. And my project? 100 Days of Me. I am not committing to one specific medium, rather I am committing to doing SOMETHING that inspires me, makes me happy, gives me a sense of accomplishment, and pushes me to keep going every day. This may be a blog post, a photograph, a piece of jewelry, a craft, or a letter to a friend. I CAN’T WAIT.

I will be posting my projects here, as well as on Twitter and Instagram using the hashtag #jesscreates . Feel free to follow along.

Leave a Reply

